Veggie Saber – Introduction to Unity Development with the Oculus Quest | raywenderlich.com

In this tutorial, you’ll learn how to develop and deploy a game for Oculus Quest in Unity by developing Veggie Saber, a Saber VR game featuring tasty veggies!

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/4912095-veggie-saber-introduction-to-unity-development-with-the-oculus-quest

Two items of concern poped right up on page 3, of “Veggie Saber.”

The first is that the "inspector doesn’t contain an option "Background Type.’ I chalk that up to maybe the later version of Unity (I’m using 2019.1.9f1) no longer offers that opton?

MY second concern is the statement “Add a Tracked Pose Drive” component! There is no such animal. It’s not included in the list of .cs provided, nor can I fine it in the “Add Componet” option of the inspector.

I admit to being a neophyte - but I have been playing around with Unity for about six months!

Art

Hi Art,

Thank you for pointing out the change with the Camera ‘Background Type’. This has now been renamed in the newer Unity versions as ‘Clear Flags’ . I will update the tutorial image to reflect this.

On the second issue, check that you have the Package “XR Legacy Input Helpers” added to your project. This should be found in the Project view under “Packages”, otherwise please go to the Window->Package Manager and choose to install the missing package.

When you have the “XR Legacy Input Helpers”, you should be able to choose “Add Component” on the Head GameObject and then add a “Tracked Pose Driver” script to keep going on the tutorial.

Thanks for the comments and I will look to update other the change to the Camera.

-Matt (Author)

Would this be difficult to get going for Oculus Go instead of Quest?

I spent a long time looking for quick start guides on how to get something super simple up and running for Oculus Go and found nothing. This guide is exactly what I was looking for… but for Quest!