Is anyone else feeling as lost as I am?

@spgms … Is anyone else feeling as lost as I am … I’m a newbie to Flutter/Dart and even have only a fairly basic knowledge of OO in general.

I think the book is too advanced for someone like me … at least going at the pace this Book Clubs is going. I find myself cutting and pasting the code snippets and being able to READ the code. But knowing I won’t be able to do it myself later. And at the pace this Book Club is going, I can’t stop to experiment or research the WHY of everything.

So, even though I’m getting more and more frustrated, what I’m doing now … is just writing down every concept or issue I need to follow up on after the book Club is over. Then, I’ll go research those. Then I’ll focus on improving my Dart skills. Then I’ll take another Flutter tutorial.

Being just a hobbyist and a retired one at that (IT background but in non-OO languages) and since I’m feeling the time pressure of the Book Club, I know a subscription to RayWenderlich isn’t right for me. And there seems to be enough missing details in this book, I’m not sure that buying the book is the right option either.

I have a Markdown document where i’m pasting all the Key Points from each chapter. So I think what I’ll probably do after the Book Club is take a Dart tutorial. Then go through the Key Points that I feel weak on (at this point it’s Provider, Navigator, and Futures/Async

4 Likes

Hi @jefff9511.

Thanks for reaching out. I’m sorry you’re getting frustrated. I do understand from where you are coming. I, too, don’t have a OOP background. I’ve spent over 20 years as a SQL server and ANSI SQL developer and the OOP concepts took time for me to understand. Please don’t get me wrong, I am in no way an expert. I even spoke with someone a couple of weeks ago about the fact that since I got a new job (was unemployed 1.5 yrs and was working on Flutter stuff) I’m back in SQL full-time and my brain was losing the OOP stuff I’d learned.