Integrating with SceneKit

Hi,

I am integrating SceneKit with Metalkit. My main motivation is to use some low level features from Metal like viewports and using the Scenegraph from Scenekit.

I needed a 4port Cad view and created a sample but its not working as excepted see my post

https://forums.developer.apple.com/thread/109546

Also I did not found a way adapt depthbias.

I am looking for to that chapter but I am unsure if thats possible what I have tried until now, maybe you can tell me how a integration is possible or to what extent.

best regards Murat

Hi Murat

I’m not an expert in SceneKit, nor have I tested this to see how performant it is - I think it likely to be slow, but how about if you do a first pass render to a texture using SCNRenderer and then blit it to another texture to save the texture before rendering the second pass, and then repeat. You could then have four different SCNViews with planes that wear the four textures. Or blit each pass to each quarter of one texture.

If you were doing it in Metal, chapter 14 Multipass has an example of displaying a blitted texture from a render pass on the screen.

I found this example of rendering to a texture from Lachlan Hurst: GitHub - lachlanhurst/SceneKitOffscreenRendering: Using SCNRenderer to render a scene offscreen to a texture that's then displayed in another scene

Hi Caroline,

In Chapter 22 (Integration with SceneKit):

We have lightPosition in world coordinates.
Then in vertex function: in.normal (in model space) is multiplied by scn_node.normalTransform,
which is supposed to be inverse transpose of model view matrix.
Then we take dot product of these, but it seems like they are in different coordinate spaces:
lightPosition is in world space and out.normal is in camera space (is it?).
Shading looks OK, until you start moving the spaceship, then it breaks.

Shouldn’t we also move the lightPosition into camera space?
Also, how can I get camera position from scn_node uniforms in world space?