Doubtful and confused with the framework used in the Ebook

I’m a newbie in the field of iOS in general and graphics in particular.
I’m really hard to find the answer:

1. What is difference between Model I/O & MetalKit & Metal ?
  2. Forced me to combine all the above classes to write code ?
  3. Is there a way to easily visualize in each pipeline which class should I use ? (such a hierarchical tree)

Thanks for the knowledge you gave me, I’m in chapter 8: Textures (Ver 3.0). And I realized I learned a lot. But i’m really confused with each framework being used in the lesson
Screen Shot 2022-06-06 at 23.47.24

In code:
Screen Shot 2022-06-06 at 23.50.00 1

Hope you help me more.

Hi @nghiaphamsg and welcome to the forums :slight_smile: !

1. Metal was the original framework when Metal first came out in 2014. The next year, Apple added MetalKit, which simply adds extra functionality to make Metal easier to use - for example MTKView is a MetalKit view that subclasses UIView. Model I/O however, is not specific to Metal - SceneKit uses it too. It’s for managing 3D assets, importing and exporting etc.

Where you show the text saying “it’s your engine”, that means that you could generate MTLBuffers that render vertices without using the convenient MetalKit methods or loading through Model I/O.

You can see what’s in each framework by looking at the Apple documentation:

Apple have recently updated the documentation pages for WWDC 2022, so the documentation is much easier to read, with all the items listed down the left.

1. Yes, you would generally use all the above classes, depending on what you want to do. If you don’t do anything with models, then you won’t need to use Model I/O though.