Distinction b/w using references and pointers as function arguments

Hey! Let me start by saying I intensely enjoy going through the tutorials in this book. I have graphics background, yet in each chapter learn something new or solidify my knowledge. Great!

I have two questions with regards to Chapter 10:

1. In the fragment_main shader function definition:
fragment float4 fragment_main(
  constant Params &params [[buffer(ParamsBuffer)]],
  constant Light *lights [[buffer(LightBuffer)]])
{
  // ...
}

Why do we use reference for params and pointer to lights? I have some lightweight C++ knowledge and AFAIK in Metal Shading Language they have the same semantics, i.e. references and pointers can be interchanged?

Furthermore, both are set in Swift via the renderEncoder.setFragmentBytes method via UnsafeRawPointer

var lights = scene.lighting.lights
renderEncoder.setFragmentBytes(
  &lights,
  length: MemoryLayout<Light>.stride * lights.count,
  index: LightBuffer.index
)

encoder.setFragmentBytes(
  &params,
  length: MemoryLayout<Params>.stride,
  index: ParamsBuffer.index)
  1. When we construct the separate 3x3 normal world matrix, in the book this code snippet is used:

Screenshot 2022-10-07 at 12.01.45

However this does not transpose and inverse the uniforms.modelMatrix. In fact, in MathLibrary.swift there exists this method, which seems correct:

extension float3x3 {
  init(normalFrom4x4 matrix: float4x4) {
    self.init()
    columns = matrix.upperLeft.inverse.transpose.columns
  }
}

However it is not used anywhere in this lesson.

Thanks in advance!

Thanks for the kind words about the book :slight_smile:

1. Why do we use reference for params and pointer to lights ?

params is a single structure, whereas lights is an array.

1. Normal matrix

A couple of articles on normal matrices:

http://www.lighthouse3d.com/tutorials/glsl-12-tutorial/the-normal-matrix/
https://paroj.github.io/gltut/Illumination/Tut09%20Normal%20Transformation.html