Which phone to buy for Android development?

I am an newbee iOS developer also trying to learn Android development. Which device would you recommend to buy for Android?

1 Like

To really test whether your app works on most devices, you would have to test on different devices with different screen resolutions.
If you don’t care about that, simply getting a popular phone might be the easiest solution. Those are usually performant enough.
My personal preference are samsung galaxy devices, but don’t have to.

Thanks for the reply!

I bought this one. It’s relatively cheap and works quite well. Used it both for native and React Native dev.

http://amzn.to/2nNDqe6

Awesome, thank you very much for that!

Hello iwalter,
According to my experience, i will suggest to going through Samsung and Nexus. Samsung is best for testing purpose because some issues only occurs in the Samsung device Like camera issue etc

Thanks for the advice!

An approach for your consideration, as in my current multi-platform project was to start by researching current market share of our target audience.

Android OS version penetration in the target geo (consider global and/or local reach). ie look at the highest usage % of OS and then the device.

Stretch to look at the lowest common denominator for the highest reach, eg Kitkat, Jellybean etc. and match to the device of your personal choice for development supporting the spread of OS versions.

In my case we are forced to test on Android 6 devices as one of the dependent libraries doesn’t currently run on Android 7 so a choosing a Google Pixel isn’t a viable option, neither can we test our App on any new phone pre-installed with Nougat. Hoping for an update of the lib soon . . .

Hope this input helps.

Excellent advice, thanks! I don’t really have a target audience yet as I am still just beginning to learn Android development.

Hi @iwalter,