What is the best Macbook to use to develop IOS and Android app

I am an IOS developer. I am trying to port all my IOS apps to android. I was wondering which Macbook on the market today would be the best to develop for IOS and android devices. I currently use a mid-2010 Macbook. It has 4 GB of RAM, 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo processor, and 250 GB hard drive. I have the last MACOS installed. I have the newest Xcode installed. Currently, when I try to build any IOS app in code the simulator loads but the projects never ever loads. I installed the lasted Android Studios 2. When I try to run a sample project the same thing happens. I currently don’t have any android devices. I don;t know why the sample project never loads in the android studios emulator.

What you have is definitely getting a little old and is underpowered.

I use a 2013 Mac mini at home and rarely notice it going slower than my current model Macbook Pro 15". Except when I want to play World of Tanks of course… I’ve also had a 2011 Air - it was great, maybe the best Mac I have ever had.

You would probably find any current model Mac good enough. I think the baseline spec would be Core i5 with 8GB RAM.

I also have a PC. When I tried to use the emulator in Android Studios I received an error about my x86 processor not being supported. : ((. I just need one machine that is powerfull enough to run xcode and android studios.

My crystal ball shows a Macbook Pro in your future… I see you smiling, I see you writing great apps and being happy!

1 Like

If you are tight on money, add 4 GB more RAM and exchange your disk with an SSD. The difference will be fantastic, I promise you. I own a 17" mid 2010 mac book pro and I have done as described and it runs very well.
Otherwise the most powerfull Mac Book Pro with 16 GB of Ram is perfect (I use that and it is a super machine, the best I have ever had). Buy at least 500 GB drive.