Issue: cant drag and drop asset

Hello newbie here and I am following Unity Games by Tutorial / Bobble Head. I mentioned not to copy and paste as it brakes the meta data, so to drag and drop. I wont let me do this with 2 .fbx files and the .psd texture, for the BobbleMarine game object. I can click Assets from the top tab or from inside Project with a right click, to select import new asset.Then follow the path to the files through file explorer and selecting them one at a time to import.

It also said I should see a preview of the BobbleMarine in the inspector, I don`t and there is no gray bar to slide either. If I do double click on the BobbleMarine body it opens up paint3D and the character appears in it?? NOT IN THE INSPECTOR preview panel. VERY NEW and VERY CONFUSED. Any insight is a great help, thanks in advance. To add I am using the download version 1.2 for Unity 5.6. I un-installed it from machine and re-down loaded it fresh thinking it may have been corrupted. LOOKING for answers…

@mrwmrutski Which book chapter are you having trouble with exactly?

Very beginning Chp.1 Hello Unity, pg.36~38 Importing Assets. I don’t know if it is me but my results are different from what is explained in PDF. Don`t know if I should delete all files and start from scratch. being clue-less to this it is feeling your way around in the dark.

Also why would Windows open paint3D outside of Unity when I double click the BobbleMarine inside the Assets> Model folder in the Project Panel.??? I should get a preview in the Inspector, correct??
When that happened I was ready to give up and try Udemy… It did let me drop it on a 3D Cube and clicking on it in the Hierarchy it appears in the Scene but would preview?? lost…

@vegetarianzombie Can you please provide any feedback on this? Thank you - much appreciated! :]

Thanks but I don’t know what I am doing and this is pointless. How do you provide feedback when you have no dam clue why it don`t work.