iOS Apprentice or Video courses, where to start?

Hello,

I currently work as a QA automation engineer, and have some experience coding and i want to take the next step to mobile development, and i figured iOS will be a good fit for me.

I’ve done the free video course from this site (and i love it btw): https://videos.raywenderlich.com/courses/91-your-first-swift-4-ios-11-app/lessons/1

Now i wanna know, where should i spend my money next: should i buy the book “iOS Apprentice” or should i become a video subscriber and do all the video courses in “Getting Started with iOS”.

The video courses way seems much cheaper, but i’m afraid i will be missing out. Also i’m a bit confused about what the book actually contains, it says : “These tutorials have easy to follow step-by-step instructions, and consist of more than 900 pages and 500 illustrations! You also get full source code, image files, and other resources you can re-use for your own projects.”

But it also says it includes the video course i just did. So is that like the only video course in it, and the rest are text + pictures?

Yeah so any help will be appreciated, thanks guys.

Hi @swiftwitcher, thank you for the positive feedback! It’s awesome that you are learning iOS development. If you are debating between the video courses and the book, it really might come down to your own learning style and preference. If you are a visual and auditory learner then the video courses might be better suited. However, the iOS apprentice book is also a great resource for learning how to build an app from the ground up. The book is easy to follow along and very organized. Again, you won’t go wrong with either learning experience, it really comes down to how you prefer to gain all this new knowledge!

Best,
Gina

@swiftwitcher Thanks very much for your question!