Extending base class with Provider and getit

To start, I’m new to Flutter, so I am completely open to the possibility that my problem stems from a fundamental misunderstanding, but here is my question:

I am trying to get a good understanding of how to use Provider in conjunction with with the get_it package.

I think I understand how to use the Provider pattern in the standard case, by which I mean creating a unique class with a view and a view_model. Where I seem to have become lost is when I design a custom widget as a base template class and then extend that widget so that it can be tailored for use in a specific class view, I’m not seeing how to connect it to the Provider pattern because the base class doesn’t know in advance which view_model it needs to listen to.

Below I will provide short example of what I am doing in the standard case, where things seem to work fine, and then I will show a short example of how I am trying to build the custom widget and extend it…

Here is the sample standard way in which I am using the Provider pattern with get_it, in which everything seems to work just fine:

class MyScreenView extends StatefulWidget{
      @override
      _ProfileEditScreenViewState createState() => _ProfileEditScreenViewState();

}

class _MyScreenViewState extends State<MyScreenView>{

final MyScreenViewModel model = serviceLocator<MyScreenViewModel>();

@override
       Widget build(BuildContext context) {
         return ChangeNotifierProvider<MyScreenViewModel>(
             create: (context) => model,
         child: Material(
           color: Colors.white,
           child: Consumer<MyScreenViewModel>(
           builder: (context,model,child) => Text(model.someText),
           ),
         ),
         );
       }  
    }

class MyScreenViewModel extends ChangeNotifier{

String? _someText;

MyScreenViewModel() {
          this._someText= 'Sample Text';
       }

String get someText=> _someText;

set someText(String value) {