Chapter 13: Delegates and Protocols

Hello, I am new in Swift, I don’t understand why are in protocol AdditemViewControllerDelegate used 2 different ways how to define function:

addItemViewControllerDidCancel(_:)
addItemViewController(_:didFinishAdding:)

Why it is not same, for example:
func addItemViewControllerDidCancel(_ controller: AddItemViewController)
func itemDetailViewControllerDidAdd(_ controller: ItemDetailViewController, of item: ChecklistItem)

I didn’t find explanation in iOS Apprentice. Is it some kind of best practice? Could anybody explain it to me please?

The two method signatures are different because one has only one parameter (a reference to the AddItemViewController instance) and the second has two parameters (a reference to the AddItemViewController instance and the just added item). If you had only one parameter for the second one, then both method signatures would look much closer …

Not sure if that explains things for you or if your confusion arises from some other point? If that didn’t clarify things, could you explain a bit more in detail as to what confuses you about the two delegate methods?

Thanks for your answer. But I am still not fully sure, why it is like that. In Swift Apprentice book, there is chapter about functions and even two parameters functions are written as:

func name(parameter 1, parameter 2)

So I am little bit confused why you don’t use just:

func addItemViewControllerDidAdd(_ controller: ItemDetailViewController, _ item: ChecklistItem)

and combine these two approaches. Is it just some programmer benefit or rule?

If you define the method as:

func addItemViewControllerDidAdd(_ controller: ItemDetailViewController, _ item: ChecklistItem)

Then when you call the method, you will have your code something like this:

addItemViewControllerDidAdd(self, x)