Kodeco Forums

Video Tutorial: Saving Data in iOS Part 1: Saving Data with NSString and NSData

Learn how to save your strings and NSData to disc.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/3761-saving-data-in-ios/lessons/2

I had an hard time following the challenge because most of the functions have changed since the publication. It would be nice to actualized those.

There is a typo in the Challenge.pdf in the version of March 2017.

It tells you to define a class implementing FileManagerDelegate.

In the code example it is called SceneFolderDeletionDelegate, but in the rest of the text it is called SceneDeletionDelegate.

Being a beginner, I was assuming the challenge was to write my own SceneDeletionDelegate class that would fit in and streamline things.

I loved the challenge :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I personally really dislike the ridiculous Jim Carrey like style of these videos. Very hard to watch. Sorry. Ugg. Also we’re skipping over some issues very quickly, not explaining things clearly, presenting things in an incoherent and unsystematic order. For instance, instead of introducing the Filemanager class we jump straight to iCloud. It’s not even really clear why we’re talking about iCloud.

1 Like

At the end of the lesson if you find that only the “1 scene” folder has been created try closing and reopening your playground to solve the issue. Worked for me.

Fixed! Thanks very much for alerting us. Sorry about the delay; I hadn’t been getting notifications as I had expected I would be.

Please someone listen to this, this is a hard topic, getting hard to understand in this updated course.
The code writing style is hard to read.
No clear explanations about some of codes, the topic jumps around, very fast to follow.

the old version of this course is so much better