Kodeco Forums

Unsafe Swift: Using Pointers And Interacting With C

In this tutorial you will learn how to use unsafe Swift to directly access memory through a variety of pointer types.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/780-unsafe-swift-using-pointers-and-interacting-with-c

Hey Ray, nice article! I really like this as pointer access in Swift was one of the first things I struggled with in Swift, being an old C programmer I was trying to write some code that would carve out roguelike maps in a block of memory ā€œknowingā€ that using actual Swift structs per location would be far too inefficient. (Today I think differently.)

What I have a problem with is the ā€œpointeeā€ memberā€¦ in English the ā€œeeā€ suffix is something you add to a verb to mean the object of that verb, for example ā€œemployEEā€. I could see assigning a var to pointee, something with actual storage allocated to it - meaning that the var is the thing pointed to by the pointer. However to assign a value to pointee where there is no object, or storage allocated, seems very wrong - in this case pointee seems like it would be better named ā€œvalueā€. Or simply dereferenced with * as in C.

I had better go start an argument about this on the Swift mailing list! :smiley:

Fantastic article!

Typed memory must be initialized before use and deinitialized after use. This is done using initialize and deinitialize methods respectively.

Footnote:
That is a fine guideline. But readers of the preceding example will
wonder why they need to deinitialize an Int. Technically they
donā€™t. Itā€™s ok to skip deinitialization for trivial types ā€“ types
that donā€™t hold heap referenences or require cleanup for any other
reason. Integer and float scalars are obviously trivial. Aggregates of
trivial types are trivial. Enums with only trivial payloads are
trivial.