Terrified of ruining users' data when submitting an updated app!

Quick background:
Using the excellent iOS Apprentice (v4) two years ago I created an app which has been doing quite well (Swim Splitz).

Now that iOS 11 is upon us, and Xcode 9, I’ve decided to refactor the code to bring it all up to date (converting Swift 3 to Swift 4) using the latest iOS Apprentice (v6) as a guide (‘Core Locations’ way of storing data as my template).

It’s been a real struggle as I’m hardly a real app developer (I’m a doctor!) but I’m close to releasing an updated version. Now, I have not modified my CoreData entities at all but I’m terrified of my customers losing all their existing data…

The reason why I’m concerned is I have the app on my own iPhone (installed via the App Store) with lots of saved data.

• When I ‘test’ the updated version on my iPhone via Xcode, it overwrites the official version
  • When I run it, I don’t see any of my saved data, but I can save new data - it all seems to work
  • When I delete the test app and re-download the app from the App Store, all the old data is visible again.

My questions are:

• Why doesn’t the ‘test app’ see the existing data?
  • Will the data all be fine once the app is ‘official’ and downloaded via the App Store, thus preserving users’ data or is it going to make a mess of things?
  • Does the ‘test app’ run via Xcode use a different document directory, despite ‘overwriting’ the offical version of the App, and does that explain why I can’t see the legacy data??

Advice and/or reassurance would be most welcome!

Thank you.

First of all, congratulations on getting an app on the app store - that’s always something to give yourself a pat on the back for :slight_smile: