macOS Development for Beginners: Part 3 | Ray Wenderlich

In this macOS Development tutorial for beginners, learn how to add the code to the UI you developed in part 2 to make a fully operational egg timer.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/110269/mac-os-x-development-tutorial-beginners-part-3-first-os-x-app

Oh boy you’ve got a big boo boo.

Try this.
Start the App and start the timer.
While it’s counting down the 6 minutes;
- open up the preferences window.
- set the Egg Timing Setting to “for very firm hard-boiled eggs” = 15 minutes.
- press ok
- the app’s checkForResetAfterPrefsChange() warning will trigger. Press cancel.

Et Voila! Egg magically turns yellow!!

I’m very new to programming so it took me ages to work out the problem. It’s a pretty big structural problem actually.
What’s happening is when you press ok, that triggers the saveNewPrefs() function which literally the first thing it does is save the new preference!!
Only AFTER that does it send out a notification to the NotificationCenter which sets off the checkForResetAfterPrefsChange() warning.

Ah but you might think all you have to do is change the order, send out the notification then save the new preference - nope! not so fast buddy!
All the checkForResetAfterPrefsChange() warning does, is update the view’s preferences if you press ok!!
It doesn’t deal with if you press CANCEL, It doesn’t stop the saveNewPrefs function AND It even updates the view’s preferences BEFORE the preference’s values have been updated themselves!!! ← this is why when you change the preferences even normally, the Egg Timer’s TimerText won’t change until you press start (which re-executes updateDisplay).

You’ve got to have the checkForResetAfterPrefsChange() function send out a notification that will tell the saveNewPrefs() function to abort if you press cancel.