How to check value in xCode

I am new to xCode .I want to figure out one of the basic function set breakpoint and check value. I was surprise that xCode don’t show the value (see picture )and I also want to know how to watch a variable.

I’m not a sophisticated Xcode debugger. Mostly I use print. :face_with_hand_over_mouth: :shushing_face:

You can watch variables: What are watchpoints? - free Swift 5.4 example code and tips

but for me the failures are more than the successes, so I do a didSet on the variable and print out the value.

For example, in chapter 5 you might want to watch the rotation of the camera’s viewmatrix. I tried to set a watch on Renderer’s view matrix, but it’s lazy storage and wouldn’t work. So I went to Camera.rotation and in the didSet, I printed out _viewMatrix. That now prints out every time the rotation changes.

Because that works for me, I haven’t really bothered to learn all the LLDB debugging you can do.

There is an entire book on debugging. It’s currently Swift 4.2 and Xcode 10, so I don’t know what’s changed since then. https://store.raywenderlich.com/products/advanced-apple-debugging-and-reverse-engineering

Btw, in the debug console, with that breakpoint, as well as setting the watch, you can print out a description, which should give you the value.

Haha, :+1: This book is so advanced, I think I could read it after I’m done with the metal book.

thanks for these resources, I finally finished chapter 5 ,wow! :tada:

1 Like

Hii, @thetealpickle here :tada:

In Xcode, you can edit breakpoints (right-click on the breakpoint) adding advanced capability to debugging with breakpoints. From variable watching and logging to pausing after 5 reps, and other finer tooth feats.

Edit your breakpoint by right clicking on the breakpoint

1 Like