Database Books for a Beginner?

Hi Everyone

I have been learning iOS and Swift for just under a year now and previously had very little tech knowledge. I am working on an app where I am about to attempt building an email login and sign up process, followed by a basic “Twitter like news feed” using Firebase.

I am a complete novice when it comes to databases and was wandering if anyone had any suggestions for books I could buy on databases (for a beginner)? I believe Firebase uses a NoSQL Database.

I have already bought “NoSQL For Dummies” online and I am still waiting for it to be delivered. Any suggestions would be more then welcome.

Thanks

I always think having a good basic understanding of RDBMs is a good start. I would also just ask, are you sure that your system would require a NoSQL solution? SQL/RDBMs I feel are easier to understand and query than NoSQL. SQLite is a really good RDBMs. I realize that this doesn’t answer your question, but something to think about maybe

Hi Jonny

Thanks for the response.

To be honest I am not sure whether my system requires NoSQL, its just what is provided by the Firebase Database:

“A cloud-hosted NoSQL database. Data is stored as JSON”

Firebase seems to be the only solution I can find where someone of my experience and working on their own could potentially implement an email login and sign up process and hopefully a news feed. So think I am stuck with using NoSQL. :cry:

I’ve never looked into Firebase. But here is an SQL tutorial for SQlite

Firebase may be a good starting point for you as it helps you “quickly” implement something that works.

Using CloudKit (although tutorials even here are outdated) can be a good starting point also, not for logins/emails, but it helps you delegate the login/security to Apple, by linking the user’s account to iCloud.