Can I copy scene from existing storyboard?

I am new to swift/iOs and working on scene which is very similar to existing screen in the app.Here are my questions.

1. Can I copy the scene and make few changes to UI? If so, can you please list out the steps to copy?

2. If yes to above question, can I reuse the code in existing view controller or do I need to create new view controller and add new methods?

Thanks!

Hi @chakri, you can copy a scene by copy and pasting it in the storyboard. For example, if you have a view controller, you can select it then copy by going to Edit → Copy or cmdC. Then you can paste it by going to Edit → Paste or cmdV. You can also look at your “Outline Document” which should appear on the left of your storyboard (small square button next to "View as:…) to see if the new scene appears or by dragging the pasted scene into a new location of the storyboard.

As for reusing existing code in the existing view controller, I would recommend creating a new view controller file and assigning it to the newly copied view controller. I would also give it a new name as to not confuse Xcode with two of the same files. However, if you want to reuse code to have a similar functionality that could work as well (i.e. copying code and pasting it to new view controller file) and adjusting it to how you see fit.

I hope this clears up your questions. Happy coding!

Best,
Gina

@gdelarosa Thanks Gina! I like the idea of creating new VC for new scene. But I have concern on copying the same code between two VC. If both methods are doing the same job, I should be able to share the method/func between the classes. Do you see any issue creating instance on VC1 in VC2 and reusing the functions?

I don’t believe you would have any issues if handled properly. If you run across any issues with your implementation, feel free to ask for help here!

Best,
Gina

Hi @chakri,