Beginning Swift 3 - Part 11: Arrays | Ray Wenderlich

Learn about arrays in Swift 3.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/4095-beginning-swift-3/lessons/11

hey there Brian, I am very new to programming and want to learn swift so I have been watching these videos as we go along and
I am really confused at this point and some things up to here I have just wanted to ask.
but in this video in the arrays you say if you want to add a Int or value to the array you have to use the .append keyword? I have noticed this with a few things, where there is a certain way to add something to the variable or something like that

but my question is if you want to add something to the array, why don’t you just go back to the top where you set the array and set it in? why do you have to write a whole new line to add something?

Hey Joey,

The reason you use the append keyword is because sometimes in your app you will not have the value there. The reason why the append keyword is so useful is so that we can add values to our arrays at a later time. For example, lets say we are using an array to hold emails for an app. At first, you may not have any emails, but when users register, you will append the email to your array. Make sense? :grinning:

3 Likes

that makes so much sense, wow thank you (:

1 Like

No prob :slight_smile:

Hey Brian,Can you explain me the main difference between an Array and a Tuple besides their syntax?
Also,which one is used where?
I am really confused between them.

An Array is a Collection Type, whereas a Tuple is a Type.
What does that mean ?

According to the Collection Types description from Apple, the Array is made to store instances of other objects, and if assigned to a variable, can have its content changed at runtime.